New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development

Food Service Occupations Regulations

N.J.S.A. 34:11-56A et seq as amended

Wages

Employees including those under 18 years of age employed at restaurant occupations within the State of New Jersey

shall be paid a minimum wage rate of not less than:

Basic Minimum Wage: $15.13 for each hour of working time, beginning January 1, 2024

Food Service & Other Occupations in Which
Gratuities are Customary

Employers subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act
must pay the Federal cash wage rate of $5.13 and must
demonstrate that the balance of the minimum wage
required under State law is paid through gratuities

in accordance with N.J.A.C. 12:56-4 and 12:56-8.
Employers not subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act
must demonstrate that the total wage, including cash
and gratuities, equals the minimum wage required
under State law in accordance with N.J.A.C. 12:56-4
and 12:56-8. Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 12:56-8.4(b), tips are
the property of the employee who received them. This
means that no portion of tip monies may be diverted by
the employer to offset the cost of credit card fees, or for
any other reason.

Overtime Rates

Overtime at one and one-half times the regular hourly
wage rate shall be paid for all hours worked in excess of
forty (40) in any week starting with the effective date of
this regulation.

Definitions

1. The term “Restaurant Occupation” as used in this
regulation shall mean any activity of an employee
in the Restaurant Industry. The term “Restaurant
Industry” as used herein shall include any eating
or drinking place which prepares and offers food or
beverage for human consumption either in any of its
premises or by such service as catering, banquets,
box lunch or curb service.

2. The term “Regular Hourly Wage” shall mean the
amount that an employee is regularly paid for each
hour of work as determined by dividing the total
hours of work during the week into the employee’s
total earnings for the week, exclusive of overtime
premium pay.

Administrative Regulations

Employer substantiation of gratuities received by an
employee and the cost of food and lodging shall be as
provided in these regulations. Regulations previously
promulgated under N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a et seq. not in
conflict with this regulation, are applicable.

Food and lodging supplied to employees shall not be
included in wages for those hours worked in excess of
forty (40) hours per week.

Where cash wages have been established as a condition
of employment through agreement between the employer
and employee or the employees’ collective bargaining

agent, gratuities, food and lodging shall not be included
as part of such cash wages.

Meals and lodging shall be considered applicable toward
the minimum wage unless the employee elects not to
receive such meals and lodging.

If any provision of these regulations, or the application
thereof to any person or circumstance, is held invalid, the
remainder of the regulations and the application thereof,
to other persons or circumstances, shall not be affected
thereby.

These regulations were pursuant to N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a
et seq. effective August 15, 1968, and subsequently as
amended at N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4.

Penalties

Any employer who violates any provisions of this act
shall be guilty of a disorderly persons violation and upon
conviction shall be punished by a fine of not less than
$100 nor more than $1,000.

As an alternative to or in addition to any other sanctions
provided by law for violations the Commissioner is
authorized to assess and collect administrative penalties,
up to a maximum of $250 for a first violation and up to a
maximum of $500 for each subsequent violation.

The employer shall also pay the Commissioner an
administrative fee on wages equal to not less than 10%
or more than 25% of any wages due to employees.

Penalties for violation of this order are provided for by
N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a22 et seq., including penalties for
discrimination or dismissal of employees.

Court Interpretation Re: Gratuities

Pursuant to the mandate of the Superior Court of New
Jersey, Appellate Division, dated March 25, 1969, these
regulations were modified on the 11th day of April, 1969
as follows:

The cash wage rates established in this order shall

be acceptable in those occupations where gratuities,

or food, and/or lodging are actually received. In no
event shall this paragraph be construed to deny to an
employee the right to claim additional compensation,

or to an employer to claim a credit in excess of that so
established where it is proven to the satisfaction of the
Department that the actual amount of the gratuities
received is either more or less than the amount of credit
herein established.

NOTE: Food Service Occupations in hotels and motels
are covered by Order No. 3 effective November 6, 1968
as amended by statute.
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